The Richmond Valley Local Government Area (LGA) covers approximately 3051km2 and stretches about 85km inland from the coast of Evans Head to the foothills of the Great Dividing Range. The LGA has boundaries with Lismore, Ballina, Kyogle and Clarence Valley Councils. The region comprises mountain bush and hilly scrubland, timber country and grazing land, floodplains with sugar cane and tea tree stands, wetland and swamp to coastal heath, rocky headlands and dunal systems.

Council's LGA sits in a region known to have extremely high biodiversity made possible by its landscape and climate. North Eastern NSW and South East QLD is in an overlay between tropical and temperate ecosystems known as the Macleay - McPherson Overlap. It is the southern most limit for many tropical species as well as being the northern most limit for many temperate species. There are 413 species, 5 populations and 18 ecological communities listed as endangered or vulnerable in the Northern Rivers Catchment Management Authority (NRCMA) area. This is a large area that extends from the Camden Haven River in the south to the Queensland border and 160 km inland.

Council is active in the following environmental initiatives:

  • Reducing quantities of waste sent to landfill
  • Improving water quality through sewerage and water treatment plants
  • Weed management throughout the entire LGA
  • Evans Head coastal rehabilitiation
  • Beachwatch water quality testing
  • Solar power generation on Council administration buildings, depots and the Casino library
  • Revolving energy and sustainability project funding

More information about Council's environmental efforts can be found in the links at the left of this page, with policies guiding Council's activities available for download below.